Scientific Committee

Hansa Medical’s scientific committee consist of renowned scientists Professor Lars Björck and Professor Hans Wigzell as well as Hansa Medical board members Stina Gestrelius, Birgit Stattin Norinder, Angelica Loskog and Hans Schikan. The scientific committee advises on scientific matters and evaulate the company research strategies.

The Scientific Committee has the following responsibilities:

  • make recommendations to the board of directors regarding Hansa Medical’s research and development strategies and opportunities;
  • perform such other functions as may be deemed necessary or convenient in efficiently carrying out the foregoing; and
  • such other functions as the board of directors may from time to time assign to it.

Lars Björck

M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Lars Björck, born 1949, M.D., Ph.D., was appointed professor of Medical and Physiological Chemistry at Lund University in 1990, a position he held until 2004, when he was appointed professor of Infection Medicine at Lund University. He is former head of the Division of Infection Medicine at Lund University. His research has resulted in 15 approved patents and seven pending patent applications, among them the patents and patent applications related to Hansa Medical’s most important project, IdeS. He has published more than 180 peer-reviewed publications.


Hans Wigzell

M.D., D.Sc.

Hans Wigzell, born 1938, M.D., D.Sc., was first appointed professor 1973, at which time he became professor and chairman at the Department of Immunology at Uppsala University Medical School in Uppsala, Sweden. He was professor of immunology at Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden for more than 20 years until he retired in 2004, from 1995 also President of Karolinska Institute. He has been Director General of the National Bacteriological Laboratory and later the Swedish Institute for Infections Disease Control in Stockholm, Sweden, and Chief Scientific Advisor to the Swedish Government 1999 – 2007. He is associated with Karolinska Institute and adjunct professor of the Institute for Human Virology, University of Maryland, Baltimore, USA, and of Ehime University, Japan. He has published more than 700 articles in international journals.